Because I Can

As I was on my after work run last night and my head was telling me that I can’t, I remembered something an old friend once told me about why she ran.  Because I can.  Because I am capable of running and exercising.  Because there are people that physically can’t do it and it would be such a waste to be someone that CAN do it and to take that for granted.

That thought has stuck with me for a long time… She told me that right near the time we first met and that was in around about 2002 so it’s a sentiment that managed to stick in my brain for the last 11 years. 

I was thinking about that as I ran last night.  Because I can.  I do this because I am capable of doing this.  I have been blessed with mobility and perseverance (God knows I’ve used a lot of perseverance in the last while) and a time in my life that I have next to no commitments or demands on my time.  I don’t have kids, I don’t have a significant other, my pet is pretty self-sufficient and I can work my 7.5 hours a day and then go home.  This is not said to gloat of course, I know from the outside it looks like I’ve got it pretty easy and maybe comparatively I do.  This is said because I think it would be grossly taking advantage of this time of my life and not pushing myself.  I could go home and play with the kitty and have a nap and watch crappy tv while I eat crappy food… I’ve done it in the past and I COULD do it again… Or I could put my runners on, grab my ipod and go outside and run as hard and as fast and as long as my body will carry me that day because I can.

3 thoughts on “Because I Can

  1. I have a similar way of looking at it. I also do it because I can but not because other’s can’t. I do it because there are times when *I* can’t! Life gets in the way, my people get sick, husband’s shift changes and the opportunities are *poof* gone! So when I can, I try to DO!

Leave a Reply

