One Year Ago

Today is my one year anniversary of living the Whole9 lifestyle.  I started my first W30 a year ago today and never looked back.  Have I fallen off the wagon and done some food things I’m not proud of?  Sure…. Anyone that says that they live a normal life for a year and don’t make any off roading choices or make any slip ups are probably lying to you. 

The greatest thing about the last year has been that it has not been entirely about food… in fact, it was really only tangentially about food.  

I’m not going to list all the things I learned here… I’m going to share instead, something I wrote for the Whole 30 blog, which you can see here… It was edited down a bit, so this is the whole copy… 

The motto of my blog and my life is ‘Time passes anyway.  Do something useful with it.’.  This is one of the first times in my life that I can look back at a year and know I did the best I could do with that year to be in a better place than I was a year ago… 

After existing for many years in a vacuum of love and respect and allowing the trauma of that to colour my own vision of myself, I had finally come to a place where I knew I could no longer sustain the way I was living.  Although I didn’t know what the outcome would be I knew that when I really made an effort to love & respect myself is when my whole world would start to change. I started a Whole 30 in February of 2013 and I have never looked back. I choose to eat good whole foods because I truly want to and because it makes my body feel better which, in turn, makes my mind feel better.  It has never been about my size or a pair of pants, it has always been about how I could best show love to myself.  

The most amazing part of choosing to approach my health and fitness from a place of love is that I truly do love myself. I look in the mirror and into my own eyes and see love and beauty, calm and kindness and above all, respect.  I could have punished myself with the gym and obsessed over calories, but the success that I have achieved by doing it from a place of self-love and self-respect is worth so much more than the size of my pants.  When I started this in 2013 I chose to work on my happiness (or lack thereof) and decided that I would focus on how I felt.  Even now, as I’ve seen incredible results and changed my life, the driving factor has always remained how I feel.  Do I feel in control, happy, sane?  I have found that focusing on important internal things instead of a number on the scale or a pants size has turned Whole30 into a lifestyle for me and that means that it’s sustainable. (I’m pretty strict Paleo even when I’m not doing Whole30) Going for a run and eating good, whole, nourishing food because I want to express love for myself; that will stand the test of both good times and bad.  

The side effect of loving myself through a framework of Whole30, has been a weight loss upwards of 80 pounds and many skin and pain conditions have completely resolved themselves.  My life will never be the same and I have Melissa, Dallas and Whole30 to thank for that!

Today is the last day that I compare YearAgoMe with CurrentMe.

Here are the pictures.  Now I just live life as this new me.

IMG_5940 IMG_5687

46 thoughts on “One Year Ago

  1. I doubt you can achieve the results that you did without hard work. I think it says a lot about determination as well. I like the part where you say that time passes anyway. I feel strongly about that. To paraphrase, next year will come either way, so what are you going to do to change things? Fantastic!

    • That’s it exactly! This time next year will come at the same speed, regardless of whether you are doing anything productive with your time… It relates to health, fitness, finances, relationships…everything!

      My other favorite ‘motto’ is ‘Not making a choice is a choice’… sort of fits in perfectly…:)
      Thanks for visiting! Come back anytime!
      D

  2. Not making a choice is a choice is pertinent as well. Doing nothing about your situation doesn’t help you. Once we realize that we have control and can determine success or failure is when we start to win. I appreciate the invitation, and I’m following your blog.

    Thanks!

    Rob

  3. Reblogged this on Weight2lose2013 and commented:
    Here’s a great story of a blogger who had taken accountability and made choices to improve here health and life. After reading recent posts of the blogs that I follow, a common theme had emerged and that theme was falling off of the wagon. Read this blog post and find out about falling off of the wagon and how to respond to it.

  4. Good job, sister! I am glad that you’ve drawn the line in the sand regarding not comparing yourself to yourself anymore. Once you’ve come this far, it’s like comparing yourself to a stranger. It’s not relevant for who you are now and it’s not very friendly towards who you were then.

    Happy anniversary!

  5. Reblogged this on Fat 'n Forty and commented:
    Here is a great blog post. I love how she focuses on coming at change from a place of love, not recriminations. I’m inspired by this and need to remember these words as I go through my own journey. I hope that a year from now I can make a similar post and similar boast!!!

  6. I’m so glad I found your blog! I remember reading your story on the Whole30 page. I just finished my second Whole30 yesterday and am excited but nervous about transitioning into a Whole9 lifestyle day-to-day. It is so reassuring to know that others have done this like you. I look forward to reading your blog! 🙂 Congrats on all of your success!

  7. Reblogged this on You Can Do It Blog and commented:
    I had to post this for all my women out there! Some of my friends are trying so hard to lose the weight but sometimes they just want to give up. This woman is a true inspiration! She shows you that if you put your mind to it and give it all you got that being healthy can be done! It’s not about the size, its about your health! The smaller fitter size will just be a plus to a healthy new life!

  8. What an inspiring story. Good for you. You look great. And I’m sure you feel awesome. I love living a healthy lifestyle too. It does a world of good, don’t you think?
    =)

  9. Miss Lady!!! BRAAAAAAVVVVVVOOOOOOOOO!!!! So proud of you for sticking with it for one whole year. You really put it out there and got the results. So happy for you. Keep at it on the maintenance front and enjoy the more healthier you!!!! YAAAAAYYYYY!!!!

Leave a Reply

